nonstoponstage – A Durational Performance


15.06.2012
17:00

Performance


 

schmittundschulzhomepageformat

What happens if two artists are improvising on stage for eight hours long and are constantly watched by changing audiences?
If you need to provide your audience with exciting, creative, aesthetically pleasing and content-oriented performace activity?

Schmitt & Schulz is an artist duo from Mainz founded in 2004. As a “team for contemporary forms of theater”, Peter Schulz and Nic Schmitt stage performances of various formats, mainly in their own performance venue, the performance art depot in Mainz.

Nonstoponstage is a stage experiment with which Schmitt&Schulz have already performed successfully in April of this year at the Fluxus anniversary of K├╝nstlerhaus Zeitraumexit in Mannheim. On the basis of a performance improvisation format, which they have repeatedly performed in various versions for several years, they will dare for the second time at the Mainz Museum Night to make a valiant attempt to improvise over the entire duration of eight hours without interruption.

Schmitt & Schulz enter the stage of the pad at 5pm.
Even as they enter the stage, they do not know what’s going to happen there. Everything that arises comes spontaneously, on the spot, by accident, triggered by sudden inspiration and influenced by reactions of the audience. They only leave the stage for a short while to fetch costumes, props or stage elements.
Their goal is to play on pad stage until the end of the event is reached.

Schmitt&Schulz have no taboos in their improvisation. Everything can happen, nothing has to happen. They improvise with spontaneously conceived or found text, with impulses of movement, with well-rehearsed or self-produced sounds, as well as with a variety of materials, from which suddenly props, costumes or stage designs are created. The awesome aesthetics give the viewer sometimes exciting, sometimes funny moments, sometimes shrill situations that one would never have imagined. The performers are sometimes calm and focused, sometimes boisterous and cheerful, sometimes freaky or dangerous … but always present and always in action.

Visit or observe Schmitt & Schulz.
Be a witness to this performance marathon experiment!

Whether three minutes, half an hour or the full eight hours – each visitor determines the length of stay.
Trailer Museumsnacht: www.youtube.com

additional dates:

16.06.2013 at 5pm

nonstoponstage – Eine Dauerperformance


15.06.2012
17:00

Performance


schmittundschulzhomepageformat

Was passiert, wenn zwei Künstler acht Stunden lang auf der Bühne improvisieren müssen und dabei unter Dauerbeobachtung durch wechselndes Publikum stehen?
Wenn sie ihrem Publikum dauerhaft spannende, kreative, ästhetisch und inhaltlich anspruchsvolle Performace-Aktivität bieten müssen?

Schmitt&Schulz ist ein 2004gegründetes Künstlerduo aus Mainz. Als „Team für zeitgenössische Theaterformen“ inszenieren Peter Schulz und Nic Schmitt – vorwiegend in ihrer eigenen Spielstätte, dem performance art depot in Mainz – Performances verschiedener Formate.

Nonstoponstage ist ein Bühnen-Experiment, mit dem sie im April diesen Jahres bereits erfolgreich beim Fluxus-Geburtstagsjubiläum des Künstlerhauses Zeitraumexit in Mannheim aufgetreten sind. Ausgehend von einem Performance-Improvisations-Format, das sie seit einigen Jahren immer wieder in verschiedenen Versionen durchführen, werden sie zur Mainzer Museumsnacht zum zweiten Mal den tapferen Versuch wagen, über die komplette Dauer von acht Stunden ohne Unterbrechung zu improvisieren.

Schmitt&Schulz betreten um 17 Uhr die Bühne des pad.
Noch während sie die Bühne betreten, wissen sie nicht, was dort passieren wird. Alles was entsteht, entsteht spontan, aus dem Stegreif, per Zufall, durch plötzliche Eingebung ausgelöst und beeinflusst durch Reaktionen der Zuschauer. Die Bühne verlassen sie immer nur kurz, um aus dem Off Kostüme, Requisiten oder Bühnenelemente herbeizuholen oder um auszutreten.
Ihr Ziel ist es, die pad-Bühne so lange zu bespielen, bis das Ende der Veranstaltung erreicht ist.

In ihren Improvisationen setzen sich Schmitt&Schulz keine Tabus. Alles kann passieren, nichts muss passieren. Sie improvisieren mit spontan erdachtem oder gefundenem Text, mit Bewegungsimpulsen, mit eingespielten oder selbst erzeugten Klängen sowie mit verschiedensten Materialien, aus denen plötzlich Requisiten, Kostüme oder Bühnenbilder entstehen. In scheußlich-schöner Ästhetik ergeben sich für den Zuschauer manchmal spannende, manchmal komische Momente, manchmal schrille Situationen, die man sich nie hätte ausdenken können. Die Darsteller sind mal ruhig und konzentriert, mal ausgelassen und heiter, mal ausgeflippt oder gefährlich…aber immer präsent und immer in Aktion.

Besuchen oder observieren sie Schmitt&Schulz.
Seien Sie Zeuge bei diesem Performance-Marathon-Experiment !

Ob drei Minuten, eine halbe Stunde oder gleich die vollen acht Stunden – die Verweildauer bestimmt jeder Besucher selbst.
Trailer zur Museumsnacht: www.youtube.com

Weitere Termine:

16.06.2013 um 17:00 Uhr