Acts of Politeness


27.04.2017
20:00 - 21:00

choreographic performance (International Performance Festival 2017)


Cat eats bird? Wrong!

In this choreographic and pictorial performance, which works completely without language, cat and bird are sitting on the couch together, drinking tea.

With the aid of animal masks that look impressively real, the two performers Sonia Franken (Germany/England) and Gonzalo Barahona (Chile) transform into fascinating and surreal composite beings with animal heads and human bodies. By that they show what happens when animals use human etiquette.

In an extraordinary combination of meticulously choreographed, gesturally strongly narrowed and concentrated stage action, skilful mimicry and shockingly real masque, El Cuco Projekt present with Acts of Politeness a morph of trivial everyday situations and absurd scenes from classical cartoons, fuelled by the potential danger of irrepressible nature.

The choreography residing from instinctive animal movements in polite reservation connects survival instinct and sophistication in an absurd way. In a bizarre arrangement, a surreal and mythical seeming atmosphere unfolds.

Choreography, Performance and costume: Sonia Franken & Gonzalo Barahona
Composition: Javier Barahona Uribe
Light Design: Garlef Keßler

Artistic advice and thanks to: Carla Jordao, Barbara Fuchs, Neville Tranter, Jacqueline Gräf, Marcelo Omine, Benedetta Reuter

Produced by Gonzalo Barahona and Sonia Franken. Coproduced by Barnes Crossing and funded by Kunststiftung NRW.

  • Thu, 27th April + Fr, 28th April 8 pm

tickets and prices

 

Right Menu Icon

Acts of Politeness


27.04.2017
20:00 - 21:00

Choreografische Performance (Internationales Performance Festival 2017)


Katze frisst Vogel? Falsch!

In dieser choreografischen bildhaften Performance, die komplett ohne Sprache auskommt, sitzen Katze und Vogel einträchtig beisammen auf dem Sofa und trinken Tee.

Mithilfe beeindruckend lebendig wirkender Tiermasken transformieren sich die Performer Sonia Franken (Deutschland/England) und Gonzalo Barahona (Chile) in faszinierende surreale Misch-Wesen mit Tierkopf und Menschenkörper und zeigen was passiert, wenn sich Tiere menschlicher Etikette bedienen.

In einer außergewöhnlichen Kombination minutiös choreografierter, gestisch stark reduzierter und konzentrierter Bühnenhandlungen, gekonnter Mimikry und frappierend perfektem Maskenspiel präsentieren El Cuco Projekt mit Acts of Politeness (Gesten der Höflichkeit) einen Morph aus banalen  Alltagssituationen und absurden Szenerien aus klassischen Cartoons, aufgeladen mit der potentiellen Gefahr unbändiger Natur.

Die Choreografie aus instinktiven Tierbewegungen in höflicher Zurückhaltung verbindet Überlebensinstinkt und Kultiviertheit auf absurde Weise. In skurrilem Arrangement entfaltet sich so eine surreale, mystisch anmutende Atmosphäre.

Choreografie, Performance und Maske: Sonia Franken & Gonzalo Barahona
Komposition: Javier Barahona Uribe
Licht: Garlef Keßler
Künstlerische Beratung und Dank an: Carla Jordao, Barbara Fuchs, Neville Tranter, Jacqueline Gräf, Marcelo Omine und Benedetta Reuter

Eine Produktion von Sonia Franken und Gonzalo Barahona. Koproduziert von Barnes Crossing im Rahmen der Gastspielförderung des Kulturamts der Stadt Köln und gefördert von der Kunststiftung NRW.

  • Do, 27. April + Fr, 28. April, jeweils 20:00 Uhr

Karten und Preise