“Projector/Conjector”


07.05.2011
20:00

Multimediaperformance


For the third time London-based stage designer and trained zoologist Mamoru Iriguchi from Japan fascinates the Mainz audience with his surreal cartoon-like and extremely charming video animations, always tragic romances and classical music motifs. Including the typical themes for Iriguchi, absurd pregnancies and gender confusions make a congenial connection, which also challenges the diaphragm of the common unsuspecting spectator.
This time, Iriguchi takes on Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake and presents together with the performer Selina Papoutseli an extraordinary duo dance piece about two characters called Projector and Conjector. In an artistic-like balance act, the two performers “dance” with their beamer and flatscreen on their heads a kind of medial Swan Lake choreography in the Space Opera robe.

Their movements initially arise purely functional for the purpose of projection. Without really dancing the two move cautiously and gently like two astronauts in the weightlessness and develop as casually a kind of choreographic parody of classical pas des deux, when in the course of the performance the absurd video animations by projection from head to screen and flatscreen unfold.

„Projector/Conjector“


07.05.2011
20:00

Multimediaperformance


Bereits zum dritten Mal fasziniert der in London lebende Bühnenbildner, Designer und ausgebildete Zoologe Mamoru Iriguchi aus Japan das Mainzer Publikum mit seinen surrealen cartoon-artigen und äußerst charmanten Videoanimationen, in denen stets tragische Romanzen und klassische Musik-Motive mit den für Iriguchi so typischen Themen wie absurde Schwangerschaften und Geschlechterverwirrungen eine kongeniale Verbindung eingehen, die nicht zuletzt auch das Zwerchfell des gemeinen ahnungslosen Zuschauers herausfordern.
Dieses Mal vergreift sich Iriguchi an Tschaikowskis Schwanensee und präsentiert zusammen mit der Performerin Selina Papoutseli ein außergewöhnliches Duo-Tanzstück über zwei Charaktere namens Projector und Conjector. In einem artistisch anmutenden Balance-Akt „tanzen“ die beiden Performer mit Beamer und Flatscreen auf ihren Köpfen eine Art mediale Schwanensee-Choreografie im Space-Opera-Gewand.

Ihre Bewegungen entstehen dabei zunächst rein funktional zum Zwecke der Projektion. Ohne wirklich zu tanzen bewegen sich die beiden vorsichtig und sanft wie zwei Astronauten in der Schwerelosigkeit und entwickeln dabei wie beiläufig eine Art choreografische Parodie auf klassische pas des deux, wenn sich im Laufe der Performance die absurden Videoanimationen durch Projektion von Kopf zu Leinwand und Flatscreen im Raum entfalten.

Right Menu Icon